Methamphetamine, also known as meth, ice, speed, crystal, glass, methylamphetamine, and desoxyephedrine, is a psychostimulant.
Methamphetamine increases alertness, concentration, energy, and in high doses, can induce euphoria, enhance self-esteem
and increase libido. Methamphetamine has a high potential for abuse and addiction.
Methamphetamine is a Schedule II controlled substance and the production, distribution, sale, and possession of methamphetamine is restricted or illegal.
1st degree felony.
A defendant commits a 1st degree felony distribution ofin a , when they knowingly and intentionally distributes a controlled a controlled or counterfeit substance, or agrees, consents, offers, or arranges to distribute a controlled substance, in a restricted area. And, defendant has been previously convicted of distribution of methamphetamine.
1st degree felony: A fine not to exceed $10,000, plus a 90%
(Utah Code Ann. §76-3-301(1)(a), Utah Code Ann. §51-9-401)
The court may order the accused to pay restitution if convicted of this crime.
(Utah Code Ann. §77-38a-301)
1st degree felony: A term of imprisonment not less than 5 years and which
may be for life.
(Utah Code Ann. §76-3-203(1))
A defendant convicted of a 1st degree felony methamphetamine distribution may not posses, use or have
control of a firearm or ammunition for life.
(Utah Code Ann. §76-10-503, 18 U.S.C. §921-930)
A defendant convicted of a 1st degree felony methamphetamine distribution must provide a DNA specimen.
(Utah Code Ann. §53-10-403(2))
Utah's Driver License Division will immediately suspend for 6 months the license of a person upon
receiving a record of a conviction for distribution of methamphetamine.
(Utah Code Ann. §53-3-220(c))
Distribution of methamphetamine subjects the defendant seizure and forfeiture in accordance with the
procedures and substantive protections of Utah Uniform Forfeiture Procedures Act. This means that
defendant's car, land, house, belongings, and money can be seized by the State of Utah.
(Utah Code Ann. §58-37-13)