Cannabis, also known as marijuana, is a preparation of the Cannabis plant intended for use as a psychoactive drug
and as medicine. The principal psychoactive constituent of cannabis is tetrahydrocannabinol (THC).
Cannabis is classified as a Schedule I drug under the federal Controlled Substances Act of 1970 and is deemed to have a high potential for abuse and no legitimate medical uses. As such, it prohibits the possession, usage, purchase, sale, and/or cultivation of marijuana.
3rd degree felony.
A defendant commits a 3rd degree felony distribution of marijuana with awhen they knowingly and intentionally distributes a controlled a controlled or counterfeit substance, or agrees, consents, offers, or arranges to distribute a controlled substance. And, defendant used, carried, or possessed on his person or in his immediate possession during the commission or in the furtherance of the offense a firearm.
3rd degree felony: A fine not to exceed $5,000, plus a 90%
(Utah Code Ann. §76-3-301(a)(b), Utah Code Ann. §51-9-401)
A defendant convicted of a 3rd degree felony marijuana distribution must provide a DNA specimen.
(Utah Code Ann. §53-10-403(2))
The court may order the accused to pay restitution if convicted of this crime.
(Utah Code Ann. §77-38a-301)
3rd degree felony: A term of imprisonment not to exceed 5 years.
And, a term of imprisonment of 1 year to run consecutively and not concurrently; and the court
may additionally sentence the defendant to an indeterminate term not to exceed 5 years to run
consecutively and not concurrently.
(Utah Code Ann. §76-3-203(3), §58-37-8(1)(c) and §76-3-203(3))
Utah's Driver License Division will immediately suspend for 6 months the license of a person upon
receiving a record of a conviction for distribution of marijuana.
(Utah Code Ann. §53-3-220(c))
Distribution of marijuana subjects the defendant seizure and forfeiture in accordance with the
procedures and substantive protections of Utah Uniform Forfeiture Procedures Act. This means that
defendant's car, land, house, belongings, and money can be seized by the State of Utah.
(Utah Code Ann. §58-37-13)
Learn more about crimes related to Marijuana Distribution. If you have any questions, please feel free to call our office at (801) 505-1586.